A view of the U.S. Capitol Building's Dome, taken from the east side. Photo by Kevin Burkett

Condemning the Violence

We join other funders to urge elected leaders to help strengthen our democracy.

Philanthropic leaders call for listening and healing, along with urgent action on COVID recovery and relief, racial justice and opportunity for all.

Posted in

As representatives of nonpartisan philanthropic institutions, serving rural, urban, and suburban communities across the nation, we condemn the violence that broke out at the U.S. Capitol this week. The events in Washington are a stain on our nation’s history and a painful break in the peaceful transition of power that has been a defining hallmark of American democracy for more than 200 years.

The shameful events are the result of actions by President Trump and other political leaders who have recklessly fanned the flames of grievance. Those responsible for this deadly violence and insurrection must be held to account, and we call on Republican leaders, in particular, in government and media to unequivocally reject conspiracy theories and the actions of extremists who use violence. After hard-fought campaigns, extraordinary voter turnout, and the resolution of more than 60 election-related lawsuits, it is long past time for our nation to accept the results of the 2020 election so that our duly elected leaders — President-elect Biden, Vice President-elect Harris and members of the 117th Congress — can move forward with addressing the nation’s pressing challenges.

Our organizations donate hundreds of millions of dollars to charitable causes each year to advance the common good. While we have different funding approaches, vary in our areas of focus, and are ideologically diverse, we share a belief in the importance of finding common ground to solve problems and serve people and communities. And while we may vary in our views on the size and scope of government, we share a belief that safeguarding the health, security, and rights of people and communities requires a government whose leaders can accept the election results, bridge divisions that have roiled our nation, work in good faith to forge solutions, and stand up for democracy.

As the U.S. faces the most dire global health emergency in 100 years, the worst economic crisis in modern history, and a racial reckoning overdue for centuries, it is time to move on from last year’s election, cease further delays in the transition of power, and turn to governance. To our duly elected leaders, we urge you to follow facts and let science lead the way toward solving the COVID-19 crisis. We encourage you to listen to diverse voices — including those of people who have been overlooked, forgotten, and excluded, and who are facing persistent threats to their lives and livelihoods. We call on you to repair our tattered social fabric and help our democracy live up to its ideals. And we stand ready to work with you to move our country forward and increase opportunity for all who call it home.

Signatories (updated on a rolling basis, alphabetical by organizational affiliation)

Judy Belk, President and CEO
The California Wellness Foundation

Timothy J. Maloney, President and CEO
Carol Ann & Ralph V. Haile, Jr. Foundation

Ridgway White, President and CEO
Charles Stewart Mott Foundation

Ellen Friedman, Executive Director
Compton Foundation

Kathleen P. Enright, President and CEO
Council on Foundations

Nancy Lindborg, President and CEO
David and Lucile Packard Foundation

Joe Goldman, President
Democracy Fund

Mike Berkowitz, Executive Director
Democracy Funders Network

Julie Chaiken, Vice President
Donald and Carole Chaiken Foundation

Trent Stamp, CEO
The Eisner Foundation

Cathy Cha, President and CEO
Evelyn and Walter Haas, Jr. Fund

Nancy Farese, Board Chair
F3 Foundation

Paulette Meyer, President
Faultline Foundation

Darren Walker, President
Ford Foundation

Mark Schlesinger, Managing Trustee
Gaia Fund

Susan Hirsch, Executive Director
Hellman Foundation

Larry Kramer, President
Hewlett Foundation

Melanca Clark, President and CEO
Hudson-Webber Foundation

Dmitri Mehlhorn, Co-founder
Investing in US

Tiffany Lovett, President
Isabel Foundation

Don Howard, President and CEO
The James Irvine Foundation

Sara J Fertman, Director
Jeffrey H. and Shari L. Aronson Family Foundation

John Palfrey, President
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

Amy Rabbino, Executive Director
John Pritzker Family Fund

Kim Philbrick McCabe, Executive Director
The Klarman Family Foundation

Aaron Dorfman, President
Marcella Kanfer Rolnick, Board Chair
Lippman Kanfer Foundation for Living Torah

Jamie Merisotis, President and CEO
Lumina Foundation

Douglas Bitonti Stewart, Executive Director
Max M. & Marjorie S. Fisher Foundation

Kate Levin Markel, President
McGregor Fund

Jenny Russell, Executive Director
Merck Family Fund

Kevin Dean, CEO
Momentum Nonprofit Partners

Aaron Dorfman, President and CEO
National Committee for Responsive Philanthropy

Pamela D. Lewis, Executive Director
New Economy Initiative at the Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan

Jesse Beason, President and CEO
Northwest Health Foundation

Mike Kubzansky, CEO
Omidyar Network

Mark Malloch-Brown, President
Open Society Foundations

Ralph Lewin, Executive Director
Peter E. Haas, Jr. Family Fund

Rachel Pritzker, President
Pritzker Innovation Fund

Sarah Williams, CEO

Paul Di Donato, President and CEO
Proteus Fund

Kathryn Murdoch, President
Quadrivium Foundation

Natasha Dolby, Vice President
The Ray and Dagmar Dolby Family Fund

Jennifer Roller, President
The Raymond John Wean Foundation

Raquel Thueme, President
Ruth Mott Foundation

Susie Sarlo, President
Susie Sarlo Family Fund

Tim Silard, President
Rosenberg Foundation

Chet P Hewitt, President and CEO
Sierra Health Foundation

Nicole Taylor, CEO and President
Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Julie Kidd, Executive Director
Silver Giving Foundation

Tonya Allen, President and CEO
The Skillman Foundation

Donald Gips, CEO
Skoll Foundation

Sophie Fanelli, President
Stuart Foundation

Don Chen, President
Surdna Foundation

John Esterle and Pia Infante, Co-Executive Directors
The Whitman Institute

Alan S. Davis, Director
The WhyNot Initiative

Paul Beaudet, Executive
Director Wilburforce Foundation

What’s Your Perspective?